The Chakras

The chakras are subtle energy centers within the body. The classical understanding of the chakras defines this as physic centers that allow one to progress towards an enlightened state of being. The word Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning  “wheel or disc.” There are seven energy centers within the body. These energy centers are not static but move like a wheel or disc to transform physical and psychological energy into spiritual energy. The ancient texts describe these centers as a lotus flower or lotus blossoms with a wheel surrounded by petals.

Our physical body is composed of five elements, the elements of earth, water, fire, air, and akasha. Akasha is the void or space within. Prana which is life force flows through the body and activates the entire system. Prana connects the subtle and gross forms of the human organism. The mind, the ego, intelligence, and emotions are the subtle states of being. Prana is carried through the body by the Nadis. The Nadis are part of the subtle body. The chakras are connected to the central Nadi, the Sushumna, which runs along the spinal column.

The chakras are within us and are active within us at all times whether we are aware of their energy or not.

The seven chakras are:
1) Muladhara Chakra (base of the spine, the element is earth)
2) Svadhishthana Chakra (the genitals, the element is water)
3) Manipura Chakra (the navel, the element is fire)
4) Anahata Chakra (the heart, the element is air)
5) Vishuddha Chakra (the throat, the element is akasha)
6) Anja Chakra (the point between the eyebrows, all elements combined)
7) Sahasrara Chakra (the crown of the head, the transcending of all elements and their influence)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.